https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/issue/feed International Journal Applied Technology Research 2024-02-05T10:52:14+00:00 Prof. Dr. Ir. Kasni Sumeru ijatr@polban.ac.id Open Journal Systems <p>The International Journal of Applied Technology Research (IJATR), an academic journal in engineering and technology, was published by Bandung State Polytechnic, Indonesia. This OPEN ACCESS Journal aims to encourage and stimulate the exchange of discourse among professionals and academics worldwide on issues of applied technology research.</p> https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/144 Characterization of Banana Peel Corrosion Inhibitor by Vacuum Microwave Assisted Extraction (VMAE) Method in 2% HCl Environment 2024-02-05T10:52:13+00:00 Jamarosliza binti Jamaluddin jamarosliza@gmail.com Tifa Paramitha tifa.paramitha@polban.ac.id Iva Najwa Salsabila iva.najwa.tkpb21@polban.ac.id Angely Luviana angely.luviana.tkpb20@polban.ac.id Muhammad Zikri Ramadhan muhammad.zikri.tki21@polban.ac.id Angelina Putri angelina.putri.tkpb20@polban.ac.id Alisya Nurbaits alisya.nurbaits@gmail.com Rony Pasonang Sihombing rony.pasonang.sihombing@polban.ac.id <p>Banana peel is a waste that is very abundant in Indonesia. The utilization of banana peel can be used for corrosion inhibitors. The type of environment applied in this study is an acidic environment, which is carried out in 2% HCl solution media. The purpose of this study is utilize banana waste extract obtained from the VMAE method. The extract was obtained by VMAE method at 150 watts, 300 watts and 450 watts for 10 minutes using ethanol solvent. The ratio of feed and solvent used was 1:10 (b/v). The results of the extract were subjected to phytochemical tests using Dragendroff, Wagner and Mayer reagents. After that, the extract was applied to the media for corrosion rate test and GC-MS. The results of the study showed that the lowest corrosion rate was obtained at a concentration of 1500 ppm non-aerated which was 0.7347 mmpy. While based on the GC-MS test results, terpenoid compounds and vitamin E can be detected from banana peel extract, where these two compounds are antioxidant substances that can be utilized as corrosion inhibitors.</p> 2024-02-05T03:45:01+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/140 Limestone Industry on PM2.5 Air Quality in Padalarang and Surrounding Areas 2024-02-05T10:52:13+00:00 Nani Yuningsih nani.yuningsih@polban.ac.id Luga Martin Simbolon lugamartin@polban.ac.id Syarif Hidayat syahid@polban.ac.id Rachmad Imbang TRITJAHJONO r.imbang@polban.ac.id Husain Akbar Sumeru husain.akbar@gmail.com Lukman Raji luqmanraji@gmail.com <p style="font-weight: 400;">The processing of limestone through the combustion process will cause air pollution at the combustion site and its surroundings. At the limestone processing site, Padalarang experiences relatively high air pollution. PM2.5 is one of the main pollutants produced by limestone burning, so it is very necessary to study the concentration of PM2.5 in the air in Padalarang and its surroundings. This study was conducted in Padalarang and its surroundings, where data collection was carried out in five locations, namely at the center of limestone burner, 1 km, 2 km, 3 km, and 4 km to the east of the burning center. Data collection was carried out for ten days, where each data collection was carried out for 12 hours, from 07.00 to 19.00. Based on the national standard of PPRI No. 22 of 2021, which is 55 µg/m3, the concentration in the limestone burning center and 1 km from burning center have exceeded the standard, which is 82.5 and 69.3 µg/m3. While PM2.5 concentrations at distances of 2 km, 3 km, and 4 km are below the national standard, namely 52.0, 51.6 and 50.2 µg/m3, respectively. Based on the Air Quality Index (AQI), the AQI at the burning center, distance of 1 km, 2 km, 3 km, and 4 km are Unhealthy, Unhealthy, Moderate, Moderate and Moderate, respectively. This means that areas less than 1 km away are not healthy places to live. The poor air quality in Padalarang is reflected in the much higher number of ARI cases compared to the surrounding sub-districts that do not have a limestone industry.</p> 2024-02-05T03:48:06+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/135 Treatment and Handling of Hydraulic Shock Load of Urea Fertilizer Wastewater in Sequencing Batch Reactor 2024-02-05T10:52:13+00:00 Herawati - Budiastuti herabudi@polban.ac.id Annisa Nurazizah annisa.nurazizah.tki20@polban.ac.id Fitri Apriyanti fitri.apriyanti.tki20@polban.ac.id Robby Sudarman robby.sudarman@polban.ac.id Laily Isna Ramadhani laily.isna@polban.ac.id Pratap Pullammanappalil pratap.pullammanappalil@gmail.com <p>The production process in the urea fertilizer industry produces wastewater with a very high ammonia content, which exceeds the quality standards for fertilizer wastewater. Therefore, it is necessary to treat urea fertilizer wastewater, which has a high ammonia content. One of the technologies that can be used to treat this type of wastewater is the Sequencing Batch Reactor (SBR) technology. The SBR technology was chosen because it only requires one reactor for the entire process, in which in conventional activated sludge systems it occurs in several reactors. Shock loading often occurs in wastewater treatment plants, including both organic shock loads and hydraulic shock loads. The waste used in the SBR operation in this research is urea fertilizer wastewater originating from a urea fertilizer industry in West Java, Indonesia. The parameters to be tested were COD, MLVSS, DO, pH, temperature, turbidity, and ammonia concentration. The results showed that the efficiency of reducing ammonia levels under normal loading with a flow rate of 300 mL/day was 99.5%, whereas when given a shock load of 600 mL/day, an efficiency of 98% was obtained. This proves that SBR can handle shock loads even though its efficiency slightly decreases.</p> 2024-02-05T10:02:46+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/145 Numerical Investigation of the Effect of Changes in Glass Typeon the Cooling Load in a Building 2024-02-05T10:52:13+00:00 Cecep Sunardi cns_ra@polban.ac.id Windy Hermawan Mitrakusuma windyhm@polban.ac.id Didiet Tricahya Pradita didiettricahya48@gmail.com Sumeru Kasni sumeru@polban.ac.id Shodiya Sulaimon sulaimonshodiya@yahoo.com <p>Solar radiation enters the building through the glass by both radiation and conduction. The heat passing through the glass is one of the largest cooling loads. Therefore, modifying the glass type, will potentially reduce the cooling load significantly. This numerical study uses Cooling Load Temperature Difference (CLTD) method to calculate the change in cooling load in a five-story hospital. The Glass material was changed from clear glass to coated glass. Based on the calculation of cooling load per hour, from 07.00 to 19.00, it is obtained that the peak load occurs at 17.00, both when using clear glass clear and coated glass. The replacement of clear glass with coated glass results in a 70.0% decrease in radiation cooling load, from 104.59 kW to 31.38 kW. In addition, replacing this type of glass will reduce the total cooling load by 17.0%, from 418.80 kW to 347.57 kW. The decrease in total cooling load will lead to a decrease in the operational cost of the air conditioning system. If it is assumed that the AC system operates at 75% peak load for 16 hours per day, then replacing the glass will reduce electricity costs by approximately Rp. 43.6 million/month.</p> 2024-02-05T10:07:28+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/146 Comparative Analysis of the Performance of the Thermal Pasteurization System Using Ohmic Heating Method with an Electric Heater on Mango Puree 2024-02-05T10:52:14+00:00 yudhy kurniawan yudhykurniawan77@gmail.com Wardika Wardika wardika@gmail.com Ferry Sugara ferry.sugara@gmail.com Muhammad Idrus Alhamid idrus.alhamid@gmail.com Ardiyansyah Ardiyansyah ardiyansyah@gmail.com <p>This study explains the comparative analysis of performance in the thermal pasteurization system of the ohmic heating method with the electric heater in mango puree. The goal is to find out which thermal pasteurization method is better and more efficient. The method used for this study is to compare the two thermal pasteurization methods from the performance obtained, heating time, electrical power and electricity consumption costs. In the pasteurization process, the product is heated not exceeding 70 oC in the ohmic tube with an electric current on an electrode with a thickness of 4 mm attached to the end of the ohmic tube, while pasteurization of the product electric heater is heated in a double jacket tube equipped with an electric heater. The results of the analysis were obtained for the ohmic heating method the efficiency value was 78%, while for the method with an electric heater the efficiency value was 4%, the heating time of the ohmic heating method is 555 seconds, while the heating time of the electric heater method is 1500 seconds, for electric power in the ohmic heating method is 224.59 watts, while in the electric heater method an electric power of 1730.2 watts is obtained, and the cost of electricity consumption of the ohmic heating method is Rp.1,498.33,-/month, while the electric heater method costs electricity consumption of Rp.31,407.26,-/month.</p> 2024-02-05T10:16:04+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/136 Effect of Solution Concentration and Anodizing Coating Time on Hardness and Thickness Coating Of 7075-O Aluminum Alloy 2024-02-05T10:52:14+00:00 Tito Endramawan tito@polindra.ac.id Agus Sifa agus.sifa@polindra.ac.id Dedi Suwandi dedi.suwandi@gmail.com Dudung Nana Permana dudung.permana@gmail.com Mohammad Azwar Amat m.azwar.amat@gmail.com Sukroni Sukroni sukroni001@gmail.com Felix Dionisius felix.dionisius@gmail.com Casiman Sukardi casiman.sukardi@gmail.com <p>One of the materials used in ship propellers is aluminum alloy. The advantages of aluminum are that it is easy to cast and relatively resistant to corrosion. This research aims to determine the effect of heat treatment and the effect of variations in the concentration of H2SO4 and immersion time in optimal of the anodizing process on the hardness value of 7075-O aluminum alloy (as-cast aluminum alloy). The method used is solution heat treatment at a temperature of 490ºC with a holding time of 6 hours, quenching using water or oil, with artificial aging at a temperature of 120ºC with a holding time of 24 hours. In the anodizing process, a sulfuric acid solution with various concentrations of 10%, 15%, and 20% with variations in immersion time of 10, 15, and 20 minutes. The results of vickers hardness test on heat-treated specimens with water quenching accompanied by artificial aging is 137.54 HV, it is increased by 47.44%. While the results of the vickers hardness test after anodizing is 213.09 HV, it is increased by 128.42%. Where the optimum hardness value was achieved at a concentration of 15% H2SO4 and an immersion time of 20 minutes. The coating thickness is equal to 25.79 µm.</p> 2024-02-05T10:29:48+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://ijatr.polban.ac.id/ijatr/article/view/128 The Effect of Pineapple Crude Enzymes and Fermentation Time on The Decaffeination Process of Robusta Coffee 2024-02-05T10:52:14+00:00 Tri Hariyadi tri.hariyadi@polban.ac.id Tifa Paramitha tifa.paramitha@polban.ac.id Dwi Irmawati dwi.irmawati.tki20@polban.ac.id Salwa Ainaya Salsabila salwa.ainaya.tki20@polban.ac.id <p>The decaffeination of robusta coffee can be done through fermentation with a crude enzyme containing bromelain enzyme from pineapple. The study aims to determine the activity of the bromelain enzyme by the Kunitz method, the effect of fermentation time and crude enzyme concentration on the decaffeination process, and the characteristics of coffee before and after fermentation using FTIR. The fermentation time was varied from 6 to 36 hours and the crude enzyme concentration was varied from 10 to 80%. The activity of the bromelain enzyme was 36 U/ml. Fermentation time affects the decaffeination process, wherein the longer the fermentation time from 6 hours to 36 hours obtained caffeine content from 2.39% to 0.07%. Besides that, the crude enzyme concentration affects the decaffeination process, which obtained the lowest caffeine content or percent decaffeination at the crude extract concentration of 80% (v/v). FTIR results showed that the decaffeination process affected the reduction of caffeine in coffee samples. It can be shown from the increase in the %T value of the C-N functional group from 40.731 to 54.85.</p> 2024-02-05T10:42:03+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##